Spanish Translation

4 Hour First Time
Driver Course D.A.T.A.
Frequently Asked Questions

Select a question below to view answers.

4 Hour D.A.T.A. Drug Alcohol Awareness Course

What is the D.A.T.A. course, and why do I need it?
The First Time Driver course (Drug Alcohol Traffic Awareness course, or D.A.T.A.) is the course required by the State to be eligible for your Learnerís Permit. When you finish the D.A.T.A. course online with us, you will be given the option of taking the 40-question Learnerís License Exam next. If you choose to, it will ask for an additional payment of $20.00, and you may start taking it immediately, or return to it later. If not, it will then ask you how you want to receive your Certificate of Completion for the D.A.T.A. course. Most people choose to have their Certificate sent via First Class Mail as it is free and will get to you in just a few business days.

If you only do the D.A.T.A. course with us, once you get your Certificate of Completion you will need to take it in to the local DMV office to take the Learner's License Exam. The DMV will also give you a hearing test and an eye exam at that time. The DMV will charge $20.00 for the 40-question Learnerís License Exam and for the eye exam and hearing test. (Keep in mind that they will still charge $20.00 even if you complete the Learnerís License Exam elsewhere. The main reason people take the Learnerís License Exam online is to save time in the DMV office.)

People under the age of 18 will need to have their Learnerís Permit for a full 12 months (or until their 18th birthday, whichever comes first) before they can apply for the actual Driverís License.
How much will this First Time Driver course cost?
Only $24.95 (no other charges!), total. We also guarantee the lowest prices!
How do I register for the First Time Driver course?
You may register online here or contact a Traffic School Florida representative at 800 732-4135. Our hours are Monday through Friday, 8:30 A.M. to 5:00 P.M. EST.
How long is the First Time Driver (D.A.T.A.) Online course?
It is a four-hour Florida traffic school, but with our First Time Driver course you do not need to spend the entire four hours online in a row. You will be able to log off and log on at your leisure.
How does this Florida Online Traffic School course work?
The First Time Driver course is primarily text-based with some simple multiple-choice review questions. You may go over previously completed sections if you wish. Once you complete the final set of review questions, you will select the method you wish to receive your Certificate of Completion. (This is what you will show to the DMV when you go in to apply for your Learner's Permit.) Most people choose First Class Mail, which only takes a few days and is free, but you may also get your Certificate e-mailed to you for $9.95, and you may also choose to take the Learnerís Exam online after you finish the D.A.T.A. course with us, instead of taking it at the DMV! This means no waiting forever in a line! Just walk into the DMV, get your eye exam and hearing test, have your picture taken, and walk out with your Learnerís Permit!
When will I receive my Certificate of Completion?
At the end of the course you will be prompted with the option to have the Certificate of Completion sent to you free via First Class Mail (which takes only a few business days) or to have it sent to your e-mail address the same day for $9.95. Adobe Acrobat Reader 6.0 or higher is required to view and print an e-mailed Certificate, but if you do not have it you will be able to download it free from the link to Adobeís website included in the e-mail we would send you. You would then print out the Certificate of Completion. That print-out will be as valid as the original. You can then take it in or mail it in to the Clerk of the Court.
Is this First Time Driver course Florida State Certified?
Yes, all of the Florida Traffic School courses we provide are accepted in and certified with the State of Florida and the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
How will you know it is I taking the First Time Driver course and not someone else?
You are taking this Florida Traffic School course under penalty of perjury. We assume most people would not commit a crime by letting someone else take the course for them. Additionally, to verify your participation we do ask several personal identification questions upon registration that will also appear on the review questions.
How can I pay for the First Time Driver course?
You may pay with any major Credit Card or with a bank/debit card that has a Credit Card logo on it. You may also mail a Money Order for $24.95 to:

GO Driving School, Inc.
P.O. Box 1147
Sanford, FL 32772-1147

If you mail your payment in, please be sure to include your name and a telephone number you may be reached at during the day so that we can contact you to complete the registration and get you started quickly.
Do I need any type of special computer requirements to take this Florida Online Traffic School course?
No. As long as you can use a computer with Internet access, you can take our Florida Online Traffic School course.
Do I need a DSL/Broadband connection to take the Florida Online Traffic School course?
No. The First Time Driver course was created for dial-up users in mind. Of course, DSL or broadband is a faster connection but your experience will be excellent even with a dial-up connection.
Are there videos to download?
No. There are no video requirements and nothing to download at all.
Can I use a Macintosh computer to do the First Time Driver course?
Yes, you can use a Macintosh computer.
Can I do the First Time Driver course from more than one computer? For example, at home and at the office or even school or the library? Can I work on it from a friend's house?
Yes. We do not track which computer you are on. You may do the First Time Driver course from any computer with Internet access.
I don't have a computer. Can I still take the First Time Driver (D.A.T.A.) online course?
Yes, you may use a computer at the public library or any other place that allows you to use a computer that has Internet access.
What happens if my computer crashes while I am in the middle of the program? Will I lose all of my progress and answers?
Our program allows you to start and stop even in the middle of a program part. Our servers should be able to log you out if your computer crashes. When you log back in you should be taken back to the spot where you were logged off.
Do I need a printer to take the Florida Online Traffic School course?
No, you do not need a printer. Everything is done on our servers and your Certificate of Completion is mailed to you First Class at no extra charge within 1 business day of your having completed the Online Traffic School course. (At the end of the course you will have the option to have your Certificate e-mailed to you instead for an additional $9.95. If you choose to have your Certificate e-mailed to you, then you will need a printer to print it out.)
Do I need an E-Mail address to enroll, and do you track which computer I am working on from my E-Mail address?
No, you do not need an E-Mail address. If you are registering online, you may simply leave the e-mail address field blank. We do not track what computer you work from.
I am new to the Internet. Is this Florida Traffic School course difficult?
No, not at all. We have designed this First Time Driver course for beginners and you need no special computer skills. We are also always available to help you via telephone or E-Mail.
Is the Florida Traffic School course available in Spanish?
Yes, this course is available in Spanish. For the online course in Spanish, just go into your course after registering and click on the "Espanol" button for the class in Spanish.
Do I actually have to be online for 4 hours in a row?
No. Our Florida Traffic School online courses can be taken at your convenience, you can log on and off whenever you wish, and can take the class in one day or over the course of several days if you prefer.
How can I be sure my credit card information will be safe?
Traffic School Florida utilizes the most secure technology available, SSL (Secure Socket Layer) transactions with VeriSign and Thawte, to ensure that all of your information (including your credit card information) is safe.
Do I need speakers to take this online course?
No, speakers are not needed.
Iíve already taken the D.A.T.A. course elsewhere. Can I take the Learnerís License Exam online with you?
We can only offer the online Learner's License Exam to our customers who complete the Drug Alcohol Traffic Awareness (D.A.T.A.) course online with us as well. To take your 40-question Learners License Exam, you will need to contact your local Department of Motor Vehicles office and set up an appointment to take it in person. An appointment may not be needed, but it can make your wait time significantly shorter.
Can I use my parentís credit card to sign myself up?
If you have their permission, sure. But PLEASE be aware that the first information you will be entering during the registration will be the STUDENT INFORMATION. Do not enter your parentís name as the student! The parentís name will go under the cardholder information, when you are entering the credit card number.

If you complete the course with your parent listed as the student, your Certificate of Completion will have their name on it, and it will be useless to you! We cannot give a refund in this case.

First Time Driver (D.A.T.A.) Learner's License Exam

Can you tell me more about the Learner's License Exam?
All D.A.T.A. course students who take our online course will be able to take their driver license exam online.

There will be three options presented to the student at the end of the D.A.T.A. course:
  1. I do not want to take the online exam.
  2. Yes, I want to take the exam online now.
  3. Yes, I want to take the exam but will come back at a later time.
Any student who wishes to come back at a later time can log back on to the DATA course website with their existing Username and Password to register and take their exam. The cost of the exam is just $20.00. You will take your Certificate of Completion for the Learner's License Exam into DMV where you will pay for your eye exam. Then you will receive your Learner's License (The online Learner's License Exam is provided by the American Safety Council).
Iíve already taken the D.A.T.A. course elsewhere. Can I take the Learnerís License Exam online with you?
We can only offer the online Learner's License Exam to our customers who complete the Drug Alcohol Traffic Awareness (D.A.T.A.) course online with us as well. To take your 40-question Learners License Exam, you will need to contact your local Department of Motor Vehicles office and set up an appointment to take it in person. An appointment may not be needed, but it can make your wait time significantly shorter.
Can I use my parentís credit card to sign myself up?
If you have their permission, sure. But PLEASE be aware that the first information you will be entering during the registration will be the STUDENT INFORMATION. Do not enter your parentís name as the student! The parentís name will go under the cardholder information, when you are entering the credit card number.

If you complete the course with your parent listed as the student, your Certificate of Completion will have their name on it, and it will be useless to you! We cannot give a refund in this case.